Skip To ContentSkip To Content

    School Board - Committees

    There are four standing committees of the Board: Executive Committee, Audit & Finance Committee, Operations Committee, and Student Services, Curriculum & Instruction Committee. each Committee consists of three Board Directors. Board committees support the policy and oversight work of the Board and promotes unity of action by the Board as a whole. Committees are governed in accordance to Board Policy No. 1240. For recent committee agendas and minutes please click on the corresponding links below. To access full committee materials, including materials from prior years, please contact the Board Office for assistance.

    Audit & Finance Committee

    The A&F Committee provide oversight of the financial matters and budget development process of the District. They meet once a month on Mondays from 7:00-9:00 am and quarterly on the 1st Tuesday of the month for an Audit review from 7:00-9:00 am.

    Current Committee Members
    : Brandon K. Hersey (Chair), Chandra N. Hampson, Lisa Rivera-Smith

    Public Advisor Solicitation: Seattle Public Schools is seeking the expertise of public advisors from the community for the District's Audit and Finance Committee. Application materials should be submitted by November 12, 2020 for the first round of application review.


    Executive Committee

    The Executive Committee acts as a liaison and provides leadership for Board activities. They meet once a month on Wednesdays from 8:00-10:00 am.  This committee is made up of the president, vice president, and member-at-large; these committee members are elected by the full board.

    Current Committee Members
    : Chandra N. Hampson (President), Brandon K. Hersey (Vice President), and Lisa Rivera-Smith (Member-at-Large)

    Student Services, Curriculum & Instruction Committee

    The Student Services, Curriculum & Instruction Committee develops and reviews academic policies and make recommendations on Teaching & Learning Board Action Reports. They meet every once a month on Tuesdays from 4:30-6:30 pm.

    Current Committee Members: Liza Rankin (Chair), Zachary DeWolf, Leslie Harris



    Operations Committee

    The Operations Committee develops, reviews, and makes recommendations for operation, facility and capital program policies. They meet once a month on Thursdays from 8:00-10:00 am.

    Current Committee Members: Zachary DeWolf (Chair), Lisa Rivera-Smith, Liza Rankin